Raglan Avenue / South Road

Ideas and concepts of what Adelaide can be.
marquisite
Sen-Rookie-Sational

Raglan Avenue / South Road

#1 Post by marquisite » Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:51 pm

I've been watching this thread for a long time now.. I see a few years ago there was discussion of deviating Raglan Avenue near Castle Plaza to Ackland Street thus eliminating one set of traffic lights - unfortunately the picture posted by ReallyBad doesn't show anymore so I hope my vision hasn't stolen too much of the spotlight.

I'm not sure what is destined for the empty lots to the north of Castle Plaza.. maybe bulky goods? (Bonus points if anyone can work out where in Adelaide the two buildings come from.) Oh, and while I'm at it, why not sink the railway line thus eliminating one level crossing? :D

PS: I haven't costed anything (even if I did the Government's costing would be much MUCH higher), and I'm no expert, but I still have visions even if they aren't that great ;)

Anyway, here goes... my vision does not fully close off Raglan Avenue - similiar to the Parafield Airport roads around the retail area, it will be converted to in-only for northbound traffic. All other traffic would need to use the diverted connector road intersection for South Road access (Ackland Street / Edward Street). Also, maybe a Roundabout isn't the way to go for Raglan Avenue - trafflic lights might be needed depending on the volume of traffic.

Edit 1: Appended two minor changes as per Aidan's feedback; Edit 2: Added bridge over South Road
Last edited by marquisite on Sat Jul 17, 2010 8:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Aidan
Super Size Scraper Poster!

Re: South Road Upgrades | PRO: South Road Superway

#2 Post by Aidan » Fri Jul 16, 2010 7:09 pm