Mining Rip Off

Anything goes here.. :) Now with Beer Garden for our smoking patrons.
Edgar
Legendary Member!

Mining Rip Off

#1 Post by Edgar » Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:49 am

Is it just me only that thinks giant mining companies are ripping off minerals from SA and nothing has flowed into our economy and the whole state in general?

Or is it too early to judge and we need to wait for another 10 years or so to see the difference? There has been so much talk about mineral resources in SA and how we are the next mining boom town, but I don't see anything happening, even with the slows due to GFC, but surely it must have some impact by now.

I have a gut feeling we will not prosper much from the mining industries afterall.
Visit my website at http://www.edgarchieng.com for more photos of Adelaide and South Australia.

arki
High Rise Poster!

Re: Mining Rip Off

#2 Post by arki » Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:56 am

While I am no expert in this field, I have always felt that the whole "mining boom" has been talked up by the government and media since it began some years ago. I think that we will see some kind of benefits in the long term (perhaps 10 years from now) but nothing close to what was speculated. I think rural areas would be the only ones really benefiting from the "boom" with increase in population even if that is only temporary.

Wayno
VIP Member
VIP Member

#3 Post by Wayno » Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:42 pm

Edgar wrote:Is it just me only that thinks giant mining companies are ripping off minerals from SA and nothing has flowed into our economy and the whole state in general?
Please look at mining in SA as a fledgling industry, and then ask this question: Is short-term pain appropriate for long-term gain? and remember that short term = 7+ yrs, and long term = 2+ decades...